Concept Design Using Adobe Illustrator

04 copy

The above image is a concept set design I created for a theatre version of The Thin Man, which is both a novel and a 1934 film. The image was created using Adobe Illustrator. I chose to use Illustrator in this case because I didn’t have a clear idea of the outcome I wanted but I did know the dimensions the set was required to be. I first built the basic frame of what was needed and from there I was able to experiment. The advantages of using a digital process for this design was that there was no limit to the amount of adjustments I could make. Therefore, I think that using screen-based methods is particularly appropriate for projects with a quick turnover and which use a lot of stock flattage (flat pieces of scenery used in set building) and furniture.

One thought on “Concept Design Using Adobe Illustrator

Leave a Reply

