Happy New Year – mood boards

I recently started work on another film with the same director, DoP and producer as The Grand and Terracotta Warrior.

One of the first things I decided to do after receiving the script, was to put together a few mood boards for key scenes in the film. The top image is a mood board for the protagonist’s bedroom. I used screen-captures from The Royal Tenenbaums (2001), Drive (2011), Tree of Life (2011), Hard Candy (2005), Mr Magorium’s Wonder Emporium (2007), A Serious Man (2009), Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986), 10 Things I Hate About You (1999), Big (1988) and Juno (2007).

The protagonist, Michael, is a ten year old boy, who is half Jewish on his father’s side. I wanted to use bright colours, possibly with a car theme, and red tones to hint at tension felt later in the film. I also wanted to contrast this room with the setting of his Aunt’s living room, where he often feels out of place.

Daphna

I started looking at ‘earthy’ tones and a lot of patterned surfaces for this set, which also works well with the feeling of nostalgia we wanted to create to encourage the relatability of the lead character. I explored similar palette’s for the school scene board, shown below.

School

The last scene I looked at, for this stage, was the kosher butcher’s shop. I gathered images of signage as a starting point for my research.

Butchers

One thought on “Happy New Year – mood boards

Leave a Reply

