Bar Sign Build

I wanted to make a fullsize prop for the Expo, so I designed this bar sign before I had planned for the rest of my display. The design gave me a chance to practise sign writing and woodwork skills.

IMG_4158 IMG_4159IMG_4160 IMG_4161

Rather than using metal for the design above the bracket I used MDF and a jigsaw to cut out the pattern. After shaping and sanding the bracket, it was painted with black Hammerite paint to make it look like metal work.

IMG_4162 IMG_4163 IMG_4164 IMG_4330

Teak wood was used for the sign itself. I wanted to paint the lettering on the wood directly rather than masking the grain. After painting the lettering I glazed the sign with a clear spray varnish.

IMG_4331 IMG_4332 IMG_4344 IMG_4345

Finish sign.

IMG_4334

Leave a Reply

