Scenery Build – Part One

As part of my expo I decided to build a fullsize section of my set design. I chose a section of wall that would have both tiles and the remains of an old poster. The tile section will be flat while the poster will curve and loom over.

IMG_4303 copy

To get the correct curve a router was attached to a long plank of wood measuring almost 4m. The side panels were designed to give the surface the correct shape and secure the structure of the wall.

IMG_4339

After cutting the side panels, support bars were attached to assist the curve of the MDF, which was then nailed into place.

IMG_4347IMG_4349

After the flattage was assembled, I set to work cutting and painting the ’tiles’. I used lightweight mountboard for the tiles. They were cut into 9″ by 3″ pieces and then painted and glazed to look like tile.

IMG_4447IMG_4454

When the glaze was fully dry, I used a glue-gun to fix the ’tiles’ to the lower half of the flattage.

IMG_4464

Leave a Reply

