Scale Model – Tube Set

This is the second part of the model build process. The first post on the train carriage build can be found found here.

After building the body of the train carriage, I began making the track for the station.
After building the body of the train carriage, I began making the track for the station.
I photocopied my technical drawing to use as a template so I knew the spacing was correct.
I photocopied my technical drawing to use as a template so I knew the spacing was correct.
I used my technical drawing to find the dimensions of the next level.
I also used my technical drawing to find the dimensions of the platform level.
I secured the two central supports first as they also served as walls for the model
I secured the two central supports first as they also served as walls for the model
After building this to the correct height, I cut out the structural supports for the tunnels.
After building this to the correct height, I cut out the structural supports for the tunnels.
Between these two I carved a 1:50 scale stairway from the Kapa-line foam board
Between these two I carved a 1:50 scale stairway from the Kapa-line foam board
For the featured walls of the intact tunnel, I used foamed PVC rather than card
For the featured walls of the intact tunnel, I used foamed PVC rather than card
This had a better texture for the tiles
This had a better texture for the tiles
The tiles were scored and painted accurately in a 1:50 scale of the distinctive 9"x 3" underground tiles
The tiles were scored and painted accurately in a 1:50 scale of the distinctive 9″x 3″ underground tiles
For the train side of the tunnel I collaged more old adverts onto a mountboard surface
For the train side of the tunnel I collaged more old adverts onto a mountboard surface
The end piece was again made from Kapa-line foamboard with a tunnel image as a stand in for an artist's painted backcloth
The end piece was again made from Kapa-line foamboard with a tunnel image as a stand in for an artist’s painted backcloth
I used Kapa-line foam board again for the collapsed tunnel
I used Kapa-line foam board again for the collapsed tunnel
For the top level, I used foamed PVC for the floor
For the top level, I used foamed PVC for the floor
I made details such as the bar from obeche wood which was painted and varnished
I made details such as the bar from obeche wood which was painted and varnished

Final images of the scale model:

IMG_4638

IMG_4643

I painted the walls with enamel paint and used copies of old underground posters to further dress the space

IMG_4655

However I wanted a more finished look for exhibition. I also put less headers* and ceiling pieces for this reason.

Full process below

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

