Scenery Build – Aged Poster

To create the effect of an aged poster I decided to layer newsprint painted in different colours onto the flattage before painting the final poster. I built up the layers using PVA and Supersaturated Rosco paints.

IMG_4449 IMG_4450

After the under-layers were completed, I set to work painting a section of an old poster. Due to the dystopian theme of the story, I wanted the poster to be a face that loomed over passersby.

IMG_4472 IMG_4477 IMG_4484

When I was happy with the top layer, I coated it with PVA and then started to tear off sections that I had left loose from the layers beneath. I then used a brown wash to further age the poster.

IMG_4492 IMG_4493

I wanted the sides of the scenery piece to look like a girder, so I used a 3D printer to make rivets, used a glue-gun to fix them to the MDF sides and then painted over them using a strong black primer.

3D printer from Anya Kordecki on Vimeo.

IMG_4503 IMG_4505

Completed scenery section

IMG_4496

3 thoughts on “Scenery Build – Aged Poster

  1. David Woods

    Reblogged this on Michael Woods Technical Theatre and commented:
    A great piece of scenic artwork. Another way to make rivets for scenery. We made hundreds for a piece of ship scenery last month and used polystyrene balls cut in half using a home made hotknife (flattened blade of old soldering iron). You can see the results here http://michael-woods.co.uk/2012/12/07/45-3/ I’m a theatre technology degree student with design realisation as a minor and will be following your blog. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

